B is for British, but this doesn’t count.

We can all agree that England’s not known for their cuisine, but given the amount of Sunday roast’s I’ve consumed by now, it’d be silly to leave it out of my food blog. Pete loves to cook some sort of roast most Sundays, accompanied by some combination steamed veggies (carrots, broccoli, etc.) and maybe some roast potatoes/carrots/parsnips. We had some delicious duck a few weeks ago and last Sunday had some not so delicious pork that was marked down at the grocery store. Also, last week I tried a parsnip for the first time (I think?)…they’re great!

When we go to Exeter, Pete’s mom makes an epic Sunday roast with all the trimmings (including Yorkshire pudding, which might be unfamiliar to many of you…it’s the bready, doughy,muffiny, burnt thing in the picture) So while I hadn’t yet tried a roast at a pub, I was already a tough critic.

This Sunday we went to a pub sort of in the neighborhood. We couldn’t find much about Sunday roasts in our area, except ones out of our price range, so we just picked a pub at random.

I won’t go into too much detail, because there’s really not a lot to be said, but it was neither stellar nor repulsive. It did the trick. Though Pete has a really difficult time comprehending why restaurants don’t heat their plates. “The food gets so cold!”

Pete had beef (alright), I had lamb (very tasty). They looked the same so I only took one picture.

Sunday Roast

The Cat's Back Pub

Details:
Cat’s Back
86-88 Point Pleasant SW18 1PP
Transport: East Putney tube or Wandsworth Town rail
Telephone: 020 8877 0818
Open 11am-midnight Mon-Thur, Sun; 11am-2am Fri, Sat.

About Steph

Eating my way through London, one letter at a time! https://eatabetical.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to B is for British, but this doesn’t count.

  1. Carolyn Thompson says:

    great!!!! Looks like Sunday dinner in an Irish American home in the 50’s.

Leave a comment